Mama Gump

Standard

Hi!

Last year we heard , MAMA GUMP, (Mary Damron)spokesperson for Operation Christmas Child,  speak about sending Shoeboxes to needy children.   Mary spoke from a heart  that has been burdened for the children of this world.  She spoke the truth with an urgency, she sent out God’s plea to us to help however we can.  She spoke of children living in dumps, homeless and working as prostitutes.  She shared how the orphanages in these countries are like “warehouses”, a place to store a child and thier few belongings.  That is appalling to me.  All children deserve to live in loving homes, even though I know they don’t.  There are so many children who are unwanted by thier parents  in this world that it makes my heart ache and I really don’t know how to make it stop.  I don’t think I want it to.  Because if it does, then I have become complacent.  I don’t want that to happen either.  I know I can’t save them, but I do know that I can help them to have hope and to know that they are loved and wanted by God, by sending a shoebox. 

Mary’s message has burdened my heart even more for these children.  My heart broke as she shared the story of the little girl who received a new doll with a white dress on.  The little girl lived in the garbage dump and she was filthy.  She tried so hard to keep the doll from getting dirty.  Mary said that she could tell that the little girl hadn’t been there long because she still KNEW she was dirty.   The other kids had gotten used to it and it didn’t phase them one bit.  But this little girl was ashamed and she wanted to keep her doll as clean as snow.  In my mind, I wanted to whisk that little girl up and carry her away so she’d never have to be ashamed of her dirt again.

 Dirt.

We all have it.

God doesn’t see the dirt.  He sees the beauty of His creation in each and every one of us.  He sees the end of the story.  He sits in the new heaven, awaiting our arrival, at the ready to wipe away every tear, to banish death, sorrow, & pain from our lives.  He says, ” BEHOLD, I MAKE ALL THINGS NEW” my child.  I am waiting for you like a husband awaits his beautiful bride.  YOU are beautiful and I love you!  ALL OF YOU!  Come, sit with me forever.   Can you see that?  Can you see yourself in God’s lap?  I see everyone of these children there.  That is thier hope.  To be cuddled up in Papa’s arms, never hungry, hurting or crying again.  Clean, warm and loved. 

I implore you to send a shoebox this year.  

Many blessings to you,

Donna

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

