The Owl and The Pussycat

Standard

Hi!  I love the illustrations of Jan Brett-especially this book!  Detailed, colorful, bright and happy!  My granny loved this story and she gave this book to my oldest daughter as a gift in 1999.  Her name was Marie and that’s my oldest daughter’s middle name.  It is absolutely gorgeous and it makes me want to jump into the pages!  This pink house reminds me of my friend Lynn.  🙂 

Look at the owl here-you can tell he is really looking at the stars and singing!  His head is leaned back and you can tell his heart is in love!    He has piled all the things they might need into the little boat for thier journey.  The boat is called PROMISE!  Do you suppose that means that he promises to love her forever? 

Jan Brett is an amazing artist and I envy her talents for getting the undersea life to look like they are under the water.  Check this out….

I can hear the water swishing the side of the boat.  The fish almost look as if they are conversing among themselves.  I wonder what they are saying?

Anyway- if you have a love for beautiful illustrations and children’s books- take a look at Jen Brett’s work.  She is amazing.   When my kids were younger and I was buying more picture books I always looked at the illustrations first and would often times choose the book for the illustrations.  To me, if you can capture a child’s attention with the artwork then they are more likely to pay attention to the words!  I read to my girls when they were in the womb and we have been reading ever since!  My Granny and my Mom have instilled the love of reading into all of us!   Thanks Mom and Granny!  Granny is in the heavenlies with our Lord and I think she is looking down on us from that great cloud of witnesses and she is just grinning.  My kids love words, they love to write and one of them wants to be a journalist/English major!   Granny would be proud!   They love puzzles, games, crosswords, jumbles and wordseek games.  Granny loved all those things too! 

I am missing my Granny today…

Thanks for the memories in your beautiful book Jan Brett!

PS:  Go visit your Granny today! 

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

