Sewing kits and Shoeboxes!

Standard

  

Hi! 

  In December of 2008 I spent some time working at the Operation Christmas Child distribution center in Charlotte, NC. While there I had to check the contents of the gift boxes that were to be shipped to children all over the world. I had no idea how this trip would affect my life until I opened a box that contained a simple sewing kit. A $2 sewing kit from Wal Mart. Simple. 

  

As I began to look through the box, the Holy Spirit began to fill me with conviction that the recipient of the box sorely needed this sewing kit. My eyes welled up with tears and I could not contain my emotions. I began to silently pray for the person that the box “belonged” to. I believe that God has each box labeled for a specific child before we even fill it. As we fill it, He guides us. We may or may not realize it, but He does. 

 Psalm 32:8 says  “ I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go;

I will guide you with My eye.”  God guides us! He watches over us, provides for us, guides and directs us in everything we do, even in packing a shoebox for a needy child in another country. God is IN everything we do, not just what we want Him to be in. He is always there. We may not always listen, but He is always there. As I was praying I began thinking about what a simple sewing kit could do for someone. It could provide an income for a widow and her children, it could bring warmth and protection through the repair of holey socks or torn clothing, it could give someone a good night’s sleep with the repair of a ripped tent. We don’t know what it could bring, but God does. The important thing for us to do is to listen and obey. If you feel a tug at your heart to give the homeless man a meal, then do it! That’s God speaking to your heart. Don’t ask questions, just do it! You will bless others with your obedience and you will be blessed by God for your obedience. God has a plan for each and everyone of us, even you! He greatly desires for each of us to live with Him in heaven but He leaves the decision up to us. I hope to see you there! 

Peace and Grace to you and yours, 

Donna 

  

  

   

              

  

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

