Grace

Standard

 

Webster’s Definition of GRACE-unmerited DIVINE assistance given man for his regeneration. 

Regeneration means to be restored to a better, higher or more worthy state.   

Yesterday I was blessed by being able to serve as a Layspeaker  at two churches in Wythe County.  Part of my message was about the grace I received after having been in a serious life threatening accident.   While I was speaking I realized how much people need to hear that message.  Not my message- but the message of the Grace of God.  Through this accident , God allowed me to see His grace in so many ways that I KNOW I am supposed to help others receive it as well as give it.  

One of the things I recalled while driving home was the grace I received from a friend who came into the emergency room to pray with me.  She has since told me that she does not remember doing anything and I think  her actions were a divine intervention from God.  GRACE.  You see, I was all bloody and messy and my hands were caked with dried blood.  The doctors had stitched me up and had left me in the care of the nurse.  My friend came in, put her arm around me to steady me,  and she walked me to the sink to clean up my bloody mess.  She  turned on the water, adjusted the temperature, soaped up her hands and then she took my hands in hers and she gently washed the caked blood from between my fingers, my hands and my arms.   The whole time she was talking softly to me, thanking God for his grace on my life.  THIS is grace.  She cleaned up my bloody mess- no questions asked- thanking God the entire time.  

Just writing this brings me to tears, and I had forgotten about that until yesterday while Iwas driving home.  As I was speaking to the congregation, I had this vision of how God calls each of us to help others heal.  We are to gently take them by the hand and guide them down the healing road that leads to Christ.  He is our Healer, Comforter, and Friend.    I truly believe that God works through each of us when we DO intentionally reach out to help others in thier messes.  My mind’s eye sees the long arm of the wounds of injustices, pain, abuse, murder, addictions and an infinite number of other messes.  It sees how God sends people to help wrap these wounds with loving care and kindness.  It also sees how, after the healing is completed, God takes those experiences and he begins to unwrap the dressings-revealing newness of life.  Then He can begin this glorious work of using our messes to help others to heal.  Do you see?  We all have wounds.  We all need ointments and dressings.  We all need healing.  We all need to be unwrapped and set free so we can help others heal.  

I thank God for his GRACE upon my life and I ask that He help me extend that same grace to everyone I meet.  Not just to those who are easy to love or who are my friends, but to every single person.  The person who is hard to get along with, the person who has blurry vision and can’t see, the person who is depressed, the person who is just plain mean and grumpy.  You see God works miracles through us when we trust him enough to do the things we feel inadequate in doing.  It’s not about us-it’s about HIM.  I think that’s exciting and I look forward to seeing what God will do in my inadaquecies.  

What about you? 

Have you felt the grace of God in your life? 

Do you need healing? 

Regeneration? 

God is right there and He loves you so very much.  Reach out to Him and He will send someone to help you.  He did me.  

For those who are reading and have received God’s grace and healing- may God nudge your heart today to get out there and extend the hand of grace to all you meet.  God will help you, I promise!  

May God guide your steps, 

d. 

  

  

  

2 Timothy 1:9 (Contemporary English Version) 

9God saved us and chose us 

   to be his holy people. 

   We did nothing 

   to deserve this, 

   but God planned it 

   because he is so kind. 

   Even before time began 

   God planned for Christ Jesus 

   to show kindness to us. 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

