Bethel Bible Study at FUMC Hillsville

Standard

The Bethel Series

Last date to sign up is August 15! 

See Carolyn Webb or Christine Eva! 

Hi!

I am getting ready to embark on a 2 year adventure of the Bethel Series bible study.  This is an in depth study of the Old and New Testaments.  The Bethel series is unique in that it uses picture concepts to help the student remember the scripture and lesson.  I love this because of my own love for drawing scripture related art.  Often times I will sit and draw little sketches of Ty and Ronnie’s sermons.  Sometimes they turn into finished pieces of art and sometimes they go into my file folder for ideas to work on later.  The funny thing is that my idea folder is now BULGING with these little sketches!  As I write this I am sitting in the middle of a huge undertaking to file these ideas according to themes, scripture, etc..   I haven’t quite got my “system” figured out yet- but it will come together over time!    Some things are sketches, others are notes of ideas and still others are partially completed projects.   I sat here last week looking at these piles of papers and some made me laugh, some made me reflect and others made me remember where I was and where I’m going.  Most of all they all point to the One who loves us- Christ! 

I have tried to sit down and draw something unrelated to scripture and I either don’t feel compelled to do it or I turn it into something scripture related.  When I first saw the concept pictures from Bethel at church ( several years ago) they were an affirmation to me that I wasn’t “crazy.”  My mind wraps everything I see around the Word of God and in seeing those Bethel pictures I was encouraged to keep drawing what my heart was telling me to- the Word of God in art!    I never would have thought I would be doing this 10 years ago- or even 5 years ago.  It’s not something I planned- it’s something GOD planned.   Today, I am trying to figure out how to turn this into a Christian business.   My heart desires many things but the main thing is for people to be able to know Christ and build thier own relationship with Him.  I have often thought of a Christian bookstore-coffee shop-with a studio in the back where I can work and bring in an income.  My family has been encouraging me to pray about this.   There is a lot about it that I don’t have a clue about and that scares me.  But I know I can’t let the fear of the unknown keep me from doing it.  There are a zillion questions- finances, inventory, space to rent, equipment, etc., etc..  I would love to be able to have a small print shop where I can do graphic design work- logos, etc..  My heart says to keep it Christian.  So I have been researching other Christians who are graphic designers to see how they operate.  What I have found has been full of devotion to God, integrity and faith.  My ears hear what the world says but my heart hears what God says.  It’s that push-pull feeling you get when you are trying to get through something.   I don’t want this to be about me- but about God.  I keep thinking about downtown Hillsville and what is there.  Not much.  There is not a Christian bookstore here at all or a place where people can go for a cup of coffee without having to compete with a liquor bottle.   What I see in my mind’s eye is a comfortable place where people can come to get a cup of coffee, read a book, relax, buy a book, CD, movie, a gift, a bible, even an IPOD or a KINDLE!  A place to order business cards, get a logo designed, a brochure made, flyers printed, or a webpage designed!  All in a safe place with a good, clean atmosphere.  SpiritFM playing, or the newest Christian CD.  Kid friendly.  WIFI.  Maybe an art lesson and even art supplies.  Bible studies, open mike night with testimonies, music, etc..  Can you see it?  I certainly can. So, today I ask that you pray with me about this idea. 

I am really looking forward to taking the Bethel Series and I feel like God is preparing me for the future through this opportunity.    I am excited about what I will learn and the understanding I will receive from taking this study.  In that understanding I will gain knowledge and that is going to impact what I draw and how.   My heart leaps at the thought of it!  Thank you to Pastor Ty & Kim,  FUMC  Hillsville, Betsy King, Carolyn Webb, and Christine Eva for offering, encouraging and praying about bringing us the Bethel Series.  This is my time and I’m going to soak up as much of it as my brain will allow!  Thank you for your obedience, commitment and devotion to bringing us God’s Holy and infallible Word!   The TRUTH! 

 

Just a note…Pastor Ty shared his testimony of what Bethel did for him and Kim, a few months ago, during a sermon.  That testimony has been playing over and over in mind ever since I heard it.  I felt like God was speaking to me through Pastor Ty at that moment.  God was encouraging me through his words that “yes, you CAN do this and YES I WILL help you!”   Taking this course IS a big commitment and my heart says that it is one commitment that I will NEVER regret.  When we commit ourselves to GOD- He will give us what we need to get through it!  Pastor Ty and Kim are living proof of this!   So, thanks Pastor Ty & Kim! 

Grace and Peace,

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. Wow! I don’t know where to begin. I was going to just thank you for commenting on the class, but after reading your post, I’m all excited about the possibilities of a Christian book store/gallery/studio–you’re going to be pretty busy studying for the next 2 years, but during that time, you can formalize your ideas and get ready, get set, go towards defining and actualizing your dream. Just about the time Corynn goes to college–you’ll have a lot of free time then! God bless you!

Leave a Reply

