Voice of Truth

Standard

This morning our amazing choir sang “The Voice of Truth” during the 11 am worship service.  WOW!  Awesome job Katie, Choir and Cindy!  I love that song and this morning it sent chills through my body.  It also reminded me of Winslow Homer’s painting ” The Lifeline.”  ( below) We can’t see what’s on either end of the line to the left and right of the painting, but we can clearly see a rescue taking place.  A rescue from the mighty waves.  Someone is there extending a lifeline. 

Jesus is always right there waiting to rescue us- if we let Him!  If the man in the painting had been resistant to being rescued-both men could have drowned.  When we are resistant to God- we are only hurting ourselves.  All He wants us to do is catch the lifeline-He will do the rest!  But we have to let Him!  Just like the man in the painting-he looks to be limp and unconscious as he is being rescued.  The other man has a tight grip around his limp body, saving him from the high sea that is raging all around them.  Unafraid, strong and secure, committed and devoted to the task at hand.    He had to climb out of the boat in order to rescue the dying man.  Are we climbing out of our boats to help others reach the lifeline that leads to Christ?  Are we walking across the room to extend the hand of grace?  It just takes that first step!  We can do it! 

Katie Carter stepped out of her comfort zone today to bring us a beautiful song.  As I sat in my pew, listening and watching her beautiful performance, I saw a boldness and a confidence in her countenance.  She was singing for Jesus and we all knew it.   We need to be living this same way for Jesus!  Bold and confident!  God was using the choir and Katie to beckon ALL of US to climb out of our comfort zones, to listen to the Voice of Truth-God Almighty.  Today I heard the Voice of Truth. 

Thank you Cindy, Choir and Katie!  Wow!  Keep up the great work! 

I love you all! 

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

