VBS at HCC

Standard

Hi!

Tonight I am speaking for a few minutes on God’s creation and the oil spill cleanup at the VBS at Hillsville Christian Church.  It starts at 6 pm.  I will be drawing a pelican of some sort!  Here are my notes for the kids….

God has given us dominion over the earth and we are to take special care of it.  Several months ago there was a big oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico.  It has caused the death of thousands of animals of the sea and air.  Since we are all humans and no one is perfect, accidents do happen.  I am not here to debate whether this was an accident that could have been prevented but I am here to encourage you to get involved with the clean up of God’s creation. 

On Day 5 of creation God spoke: “Swarm, Ocean, with fish and all sea life!
      Birds, fly through the sky over Earth!”
   God created the huge whales,
      all the swarm of life in the waters,
   And every kind and species of flying birds.
      God saw that it was good.
   God blessed them: “Prosper! Reproduce! Fill Ocean!
      Birds, reproduce on Earth!”

In order for these animals to reproduce and not become extinct we must help with the cleanup and we can do that by giving our change  as an offering this week at VBS.

 On Day 6 of creation God spoke: “Let us make human beings in our image, make them
      reflecting our nature
   So they can be responsible for the fish in the sea,
      the birds in the air, the cattle,
   And, yes, Earth itself,
      and every animal that moves on the face of Earth.”
   God created human beings;
      he created them godlike,
   Reflecting God’s nature.
      He created them male and female.
   God blessed them:
      “Prosper! Reproduce! Fill Earth! Take charge!
   Be responsible for fish in the sea and birds in the air,
      for every living thing that moves on the face of Earth.”

God has given us many things to take care of, like our pets, our toys, our home and our families.  He has also given us the earth to care for.  He tells us to “Take charge! and Be responsible!”  Our parents tell us those same things when we need to clean our rooms or put our toys away.  It is our job to take care of those things, just like it is for us to take care of God’s creation!  God has instructed us to do this by saying ” Be responsible for everything!” 

Now let’s listen to some music and have some fun drawing!  I would like to challenge each of you to read Genesis Chapter 1 this week.  As you read it- draw what you see in your mind on the paper.  Have fun with it!  There is nothing better than sharing God’s Word through art!  Here is some paper and chalk for you to try it out while I draw for you now.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. Very nicely done–I think they will learn a lot from you–you really explained the problem well and gave them an incentive to look at their responsibility to our fish and wildlife and God’s creation as a whole. Good job! Have fun–almost wish I were a kid again but I don’t want to go through adolesence again! Ha! Ha!

  2. You have said this very well.This is a great topic for VBS. Excellent job on the drawing too.
    🙂
    Mom xxoo

Leave a Reply

