Women in Ministry

Standard

Hi!

Yesterday during church the choir sang the song , ” Lifesong” by Casting Crowns. 

Thank you Choir!  Awesome job! 

Sing it with me.

And now my lifesong sings…I once was dead, but now I live…

My lifesong is striving to live for Christ in everything that I do.  Being His servant.  God calls us all, male and female.  He created us in His image-no two alike-yet we are ALL His.  He has purposed each and every life to live for Him.  It is up to each of us to do that.  We choose.  God doesn’t force it on us.  He wants our LIFESONG to be about HIM! 

Mary was a young teenage woman when God called her to live for Him.  She was full of humility and faith.  A young woman who was called to carry the beautiful Savior of the world.  The Savior… who came in the form of an infant, born in a barn, the lowliest place in the city to lay a precious newborn babes wrinkly, soft, tender and trembling body.  A body that Mary would nurture and love from a baby to a man.  A body that she would soon see tortured, bloodied and beaten beyond recognition.  A body that she would caress, clean and care for.  A body that would be made new again.  A body whose LIFESONG was to save the world and live forever. 

God chose Mary, a WOMAN, to bring His one and only begotten Son into the world.  Into a world that was wicked, misguided, and hateful.  He could have done this anyway he wanted to-but HE CHOSE A WOMAN to bring this precious gift into the world.  Not just any woman, but a tenderhearted young woman who was a virgin.  He wanted His Son to be born in the most innocent, purest way possible, and He was.

Can you imagine Mary’s life as a young, pregnant, unwed mother?  I am sure she was fearful, confused and suffered much ridicule.  But her faith was stronger.  Her God could do anything and she knew it.  This was Mary’s lifesong- her ministry was to carry the Savior of the world in her belly and give birth to Him.  Not only did she give birth to Him- she had to surrender Him to the world.  A sacrifice.

Mary was her Son’s first Disciple. 

There are many, many, women in ministry today who serve God sacrificially.  Mothers, daughters, Grandmothers, teachers, preachers, deacons, elders and bishops and the list goes on.     They give up thier lives to take on God’s LIFESONG as their own.  They live thier lives to His tune, not the world’s and like Mary they know that thier God can do anything.  They know that God will get them through the unbelief, the ridicule, and the confusion of the world.  How? Because they do not live for the world-they live for God.  When your LIFESONG becomes God’s then you know you are able to do anything that He asks of you- just like Mary knew that God  would give her the fortitude, strength and grit to do the job He had called her to do.  No, it’s not easy and it requires much sacrifice-but as a woman, I know that if I’m called to do it and I don’t- I will be miserable.  There are many people in the world who would like to see us, as women, fail, but when God calls you to it-He’s going to bring you through it.  He is going to give you everything you need to get the job done- even when you can’t see the tools.  They are there.  It requires much faith, prayer and sacrifice.  I have a friend who is always telling me to look up.”  I believe that God placed the stars in the sky to get us to look up.  To see His beauty there in the darkness.  No matter how dark it is-there is always a star shining somewhere-even when we can’t see it.  That star is Jesus Christ. 

So to all the women in ministry-look up and see the stars-look up and see Mary in that great cloud of witnesses cheering us on-saying ” C’mon Sister!  You can do it! ”  She’s not alone either- she’s there with Deborah, Esther, Hagar, Lydia, Martha, Miriam, Naomi, Priscilla, Ruth, Sarah and many many more.  ALL of them ARE IN YOUR CHEERING SECTION!  Like the choir that is led by the director- Jesus is directing us all to sing in harmony with one another. 

So, ladies in my life, thank you for inspiring, for teaching, for praying, for preaching, loving and guiding me to where I am at today.  Thank you for every sacrifice you have ever made for our God.  Thank you for giving of yourselves, as well as giving UP yourselves.  Thank you for making your LIFESONG sing God’s Holy and Infallible Word over the world that you live in. 

Well done good and faithful servants, well done.

I love you all!

D.

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

6 responses »

  1. You and your many talents are a blessing and an example to us! We’re all in this “lifesong” together, my friend!

  2. Donna, We all bless each other, prod each other on so that in our unique and special ways we can proclaim the great news of Jesus Christ and lift high His matchless Name. Mary Magdelene was the first chosen by Jesus to take the Good News to the others….. “I have seen the LORD!” I think He was very intentional that it be a woman! Can’t you just see His inner smile as she ran off to spread the news? Thank you for your love and friendship. I praise God that He allowed our lives to intersect!!

  3. Thank you so much for sharing Donna! You have an awesome LIFESONG! You are such a spark and lead by example. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

