A certain fondness for the things of God

Standard

 

 

 I love old churches and I have a certain fondness for a particular church in Grayson County.  God keeps drawing me there again and again.  Each time I go in obedience I fall in love all over again.  Not just with the church itself, but with our magnificent God and the people that He has placed there.  For whatever reason He keeps bringing us together.  Maybe it is for me to encourage them or for them to fold me up in love and take me in like a shepherd takes in his precious sheep.  Whatever it is Lord, I’m listening, I’m praying and I’m waiting. 

I was speaking at this “church in the wildwood” last week and the love I felt from God through the folks there has left me in awe of our Creator.   I’ve tried to understand what I’m feeling but it sends my head spinning in the other direction-straight towards God.  The things I feel, hear and want to explain to others has rendered me speechless.   As we prayed in that sacred place that night, with it’s softened pews and worn wood, one of the ladies grabbed my hand and arm and would not let go-clasping me with everything she had.   She is an 89 year old woman of God with the grip of a teenager.   The love that I felt in that grasp and in her eyes was amazing.  I could have fallen right in and I think I did.  It was a God moment.  It wasn’t just her either-but everyone there seemed to be filled with the Spirit of God.  No one was in a hurry to leave after the service was over either.  

I think I had a little glimpse of glory that night, what it might be like to see Jesus face to face and never want to leave.  Just that little bit has made me hungry for more and it has made my flame leap a little higher and burn a little brighter.   I know that God is doing a work that only He can do, one that only He understands and will do in His time, not mine.  

Here am I Lord…send me.

forever yours,

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

