Seeing God

Standard

The RIDE

I throw my leg over the seat
and as I crank the motor
 I feel the rev of the engine in my being.

 I twist the throttle,
and hear the rumble of the pipes-
CRACK, POP, ROAR!

My heart beats a little faster
in anticipation of the ride to come.

Giving God thanks for the machine,
the day and the man beside me
we embark on the day’s journey.

I feel the wind caress my face
and smell the sweet aroma of honeysuckle in the air.
I thank God for the beauty of His creation.

The day is blistering hot,
the pavement is dark and radiating heat.
No amount of wind can cool my skin today.

We head to the Gap
where the roads are winding and covered in shade.
As we approach the road drastically narrows,
a bright orange sign warns that “this road is not recommended” for truckers.

It is like entering a rain forest-the foliage is thick, green, lush and beautiful.
I breathe in the smell of the musty forest…
I feel the cool air on my skin…
it is a relief to my humid being.
I thank God for His creation once again.

We twist and turn and round a few switchbacks,
I feel my grin ever widening and I think to myself,
“now this is riding- no traffic, no noise, just me, my bike and creation.”

I think about Sunday School and what we studied today
and I wonder how people can NOT see God everywhere.
I reprimand myself and say, ” remember where you came from…”

I wasn’t always like this.
It took many people, much study, and the Holy Spirit
to change the way I viewed the world around me.

The touch of God’s hand.

As I ride down the Gap,
I am gently reminded of how many people
embraced me, held my hand,
and said,
“come on, let me show you the way…”

It is because of the people
who held out thier lives in love
that I am the way I am today.

I didn’t do it.
God did it.

Now He is asking me to do it for others.
I say,
” Here I am Lord, Send me.”
Here I am…

It’s night now.
I’m tired- a good tired.

My bike is now parked in the garage,
another ride under the belt,
another day spent communing with God,
one on one
from behind the handlebars of my VStar.

Thank you Lord, for the safe voyage home,
 for the words of wisdom,  and for allowing me
to see you in the ride, today, tomorrow and always.

Just like the kid who hears the motorcycle coming,
and runs with everything he has
his  little kid arms pumping up and down
furiously running to get to the road to give us a wave-
he makes it!
A look of sheer joy overcomes his entire being
as we ride by beeping and waving.

I want to be like that kid with you Lord…
I want to run to you with all that I have,
with all that I am, and with all that you have given me,
I want to run to you full speed ahead,
joyously grinning the whole way,
not wanting to miss a thing.

I yearn for it everyday
in everything I do.
Why?
Because someone cared enough about me
to help me get where I am today.
Thank you Lord.

I love you so much…

Donna Godwin
June 27, 2010

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

  1. Great writing and soul searching! I’m so glad I have your words (and drawings) to start each day! So inspirational!

Leave a Reply

