Faith Walk

Standard

Hi!

Last night I had the opportunity to work with some of God’s precious children.   I drew a picture from Slovakia and then explained what it all meant.  I played music from Point of Grace as I worked and I explained that Point of Grace’s music was all about “telling our life story.”  Part of my story is to tell about God in the images that I draw.  My trip to Slovakia will stay with me forever.  It was full of many, many “firsts” and I learned a lot about myself, God and the world.  God showed me who HE is and what HE can do as I took a giant step of faith.   It was more like a leap!  While I was there He told me time and time again that He was with me and He was in control. 

All of God’s children need encouragement and this is what my “mission” was for the evening.  Paul encouraged millions of followers through his letters, letters that are still encouraging people today.  When we read Paul’s letters they start out with greetings of love and end with peace and grace.  I think that is beautiful.  Paul fits the hard stuff in between the sweet.  Kinda like a backwards oreo cookie!  The filling is on the outside with the hard cookie on the inside.   Life can be hard and unfair and for some people it is downright miserable.    Just as God used Paul to encourage through letters, He is using me to encourage through art. 

All of our lives are a journey and the roads we take are our choices.  God gave us free will to make decisions.  For me, I decided to follow Christ a long time ago.  This picture is a story about my faith walk.  But it could be anyone’s story and God enabled me to use it to encourage His children and leave behind the HOPE we have in knowing Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior.  Some of His children have had to make tough choices in order to just survive and in making these choices they have found hope, peace and love.  Life is still hard, but God has made them into overcomers. 

 The archway is one of many that I saw while in Slovakia and when I agreed to the mission trip, I stepped through this archway and began another leg of my journey towards Christ.  These precious children that I met are also on a new leg of thier journey.  A fresh start filled with hope, love and peace.  No, it’s not easy, but it’s the right road and the road that was built for them by Jesus Christ.  As I looked into thier eyes I saw a hunger for God’s love.  I saw fortitude, courage and bravery.  I felt compassion, kindness and love.  As I explained the drawing, I saw understanding fill their eyes, I felt the God of HOPE in the moment and I felt my heart beat a little faster.

The buckets hold life’s debris, junk, stuff.  The shovel and pickaxe are the tools used to get rid of the debris.  We cannot move forward, through the archway to life, until we rid ourselves of this junk.  The chalice and bread are how we remember what Christ did for us.  When we take of these elements, we commune with the Almighty.  It is an act of reverence, of love and of commitment.  We cannot take these things until we seek repentence.  At least we shouldn’t.  We should go to the table with a clean heart. 

Each colorful footprint represents one of God’s children.  He knows thier names and thier future and He loves each and everyone of them.  When I invited them to be a part of the drawing, by adding thier footprints, it changed the whole piece.  It added color, life, love and hope.  We MUST do this with everyone we meet-invite them IN- into whatever it is that God is doing through you.   No one wants to feel like an outsider.  Everyone wants to belong.  Now this drawing belongs to all of us. 

God is at the center.  He is the Life, the Truth and the Way and we cannot make it on our faith walk without Him.

Will YOU walk with us?

Lord I pray that your blessings will fall upon this post and speak to all who read it…amen

 

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. Your picture was wonderful. I loved the way it included our friends as a part of your story. It showed them they are valuable and not just bystanders in the GOOD part of life. The hope it showed was much needed. Thank you very, very much for going with us and extending God’s love through your art. It was a fantastic evening. I know I was blessed to be there.

Leave a Reply

