Guard Your Heart

Standard

Emily and Elizabeth started day camp today.  They had a super busy day and were tired out on the way home.  Elizabeth shared with me that she “checked out my blog” the night before.  She said she didn’t have anything else to look at so she decided to “check it out.”  I know she has looked at it before when I posted pictures of her Sunday School class.  She is probably my youngest reader and I am humbled to know that she even takes the time to look at it.  Thank you Elizabeth!

I am really glad she told me that she looked at the blog because it only enforces the fact that we must guard our hearts, minds, words, actions and deeds and honor Christ in everything we do- including blogging.    Elizabeth’s candid remarks reminded me that “people are watching us.”  When a 10 year old tells you they are reading your blog it’s kind of like a ‘wake up’ call!  Kids see more than you think!  God sees everything and nothing is hidden from Him.

 1 Timothy says:  

20-21And oh, my dear Timothy, guard the treasure you were given! Guard it with your life. Avoid the talk-show religion and the practiced confusion of the so-called experts. People caught up in a lot of talk can miss the whole point of faith.

We are to guard the good deposit that God has placed in our lives.  HIM!  We are to keep everything about us HOLY. ( even blogging, facebooking, texting and driving in traffic- to name a few)  Why?  Because we love the Lord with our entire being.  Because we are compelled to do this by GOD Almighty Himself.  Our faith doesn’t stop when we receive salvation-IT BEGINS!!   It is a process that will be ongoing as long as we breath the air of this world.  We are to guard the treasure ( salvation) with our life.  We do this with the help of the Holy Spirit and sometimes the HS uses people to get our attention!  People like Elizabeth- a 10 year old!

 2 Timothy 2 : 14-18 ( MSG) Repeat these basic essentials over and over to God’s people. Warn them before God against pious nitpicking, which chips away at the faith. It just wears everyone out. Concentrate on doing your best for God, work you won’t be ashamed of, laying out the truth plain and simple. Stay clear of pious talk that is only talk. Words are not mere words, you know. If they’re not backed by a godly life, they accumulate as poison in the soul.

A Godly life.  A Holy life.  The Best Life- a life in Christ.  The WORLD is watching and they are taking notes.  Life notes.  Just like a song is out of tune when it is missing a note-our lives are the same way without Jesus in EVERY ASPECT of our lives.  Yeah, it’s hard and it makes you re-evaluate-and re-prioritze and it even makes you feel like an outsider because now you are different-not better- but different because now you KNOW better-you aren’t marching to the tune of the world-but to the heartbeat of YOUR Creator!  God gives us a spirit of power, love and self discipline!  Are we using it?  Are we hearing the heavenly drummer or the noise from the world? 

God used Elizabeth to get my attention today. 

Psalm 91:14-16

 14 “Because he loves me,” says the LORD, “I will rescue him;
       I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.

 15 He will call upon me, and I will answer him;
       I will be with him in trouble,
       I will deliver him and honor him.

 16 With long life will I satisfy him
       and show him my salvation.”

Thank you Lord, I long to see your salvation and to live forever with you in Paradise.  You have burdened me-spiritually, physically and emotionally with the ongoing challenge of living a life that is HOLY and PLEASING to you.  My life has not been so HOLY or PLEASING in certain areas.  You know what they are.  I am filled with shame and regret that I have not been as holy and pleasing as I should be. I ask foryour forgiving touch upon these areas and I thank you for the grace that comes from you and only you.  It is ever flowing and over flowing and right there for any and all who seek your forgiveness.  May I move forward from here and be the servant you have called me to be.  I know I will never be perfect here on earth and I long to do what you require in order to be rescued.  To live a Holy life.  A life that revolves around you in ALL areas, not just the areas I pick-but in every nook and cranny of my being.  I can only do this through your power and might and I ask these things in your Holy and precious name.

Amen

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

