The Long Way Home

Standard

Hi!

This afternoon we rode to Christiansburg to my sister’s house for a cookout.  We got there, we ate and then Cort said, ” it’s gettin’ dark-we better roll!”  We were on the bikes and he didn’t mean dark as in night time-he meant the sky was getting dark with a storm.  So, we hopped on the bikes and decided to take the long way home to avoid the storm.  Well, sometimes you shouldn’t take the long way home -instead- you should stay parked for awhile in the safety of a warm and dry house.  You should never try to out guess mother nature!

We went the long way around and I was tickled with glee at what ran out in front of us early in the ride- a baby black bear!   He just sort of gallumped across the road ( yep- I made that one up!) and went up the side of a bank, disappearing into the woods.  So, naturally when you see one you start looking for another one!  Well, I didn’t see another bear but I did see that calf in the driveway again!   We got to Floyd and the sky was looking even more ominous than before.  It seems that the storm was coming right for us-or we for it.  So we headed down 221 and the lightning was cracking all around us.  It was more like heat lightning at first-way up high in the sky.  The farther we rode-the lower it got.  The air was thick with bugs and at one point Corynn and I saw  a field of lightning bugs-it was beautiful!  By this time it was dark.  We don’t normally ride after dusk as it is dangerous.  But we had to get home.  Well, once we got into Dugspur- the rain started.  I was in the lead and the rain got so heavy that I had to pull over and into a driveway.  We were soaked to the skin!  It let up a little and really all you can do is press on until you find a safe spot out of the storm.  So we did.  We ended up taking cover at Hillsville Elementary School under the front doors.  About the time we turned into the school a big bolt of lightning lit of the sky and we were off the bikes and under cover!  Phew! 

We have super kids and they were so brave!  I am so proud that they kept thier calm and looked at it like an adventure.  Cort told Emily that ” this was better than a theme park ride!” haha!  She told him it was “creepy!” haha!    The rain let up and we were able to get on our way after 10 minutes or so.  We arrived safely at home, very wet, and very thankful.  We had a thanksgiving prayer huddle in the garage-dripping wet jeans and all!  Thank you Lord for your hand of safety upon us!

Our evening ride reminded me of the old song by Supertramp_ “Take the Long Way Home.”  So here it is for your listening pleasure!

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. Cute version of the song–you should have come to our house. We would have protected you! My dad, brother, Mary Anna and Bill’s two cousins were just leaving when we realized it was lightning.

  2. Cute version of the song–you should have come to our house. We would have protected you! My dad, brother, Mary Anna and Bill’s two cousins were just leaving when we realized it was lightning.

Leave a Reply

