Falling…deeper and deeper

Standard

Good Morning!

As I sit here and look out the studio window- I see the Creator’s mighty sun rays gleaming through the wet tree limbs.  As the summer rain drips from the leaves onto the glistening grass I think of the everflowing grace of God.  It’s always there, ready to cover us, to fill us and to nourish our parched souls.  My heart is drowning in God’s amazing grace this morning. 

I visited Flat Rock this week and God has used that precious little white church perched on a rock, to touch my soul once again.  There’s something about that place that speaks to me very deeply.  It’s simplicity says, ” I am all you need, Donna.  No glitz, no glamor, just Me.”  I felt this in Slovakia too.  God has spoken to me in both places about “comforting” His people.  

Isaiah 40

Comfort for God’s People

 1 Comfort, comfort my people,
       says your God.

 2 Speak tenderly to Jerusalem,
       and proclaim to her
       that her hard service has been completed,
       that her sin has been paid for,
       that she has received from the LORD’s hand
       double for all her sins.

 3 A voice of one calling:
       “In the desert prepare
       the way for the LORD [a] ;
       make straight in the wilderness
       a highway for our God. [b]

 4 Every valley shall be raised up,
       every mountain and hill made low;
       the rough ground shall become level,
       the rugged places a plain.

 5 And the glory of the LORD will be revealed,
       and all mankind together will see it.
       For the mouth of the LORD has spoken.”

It was about a year ago when I first visited Flat Rock and God brought Isaiah 40 to my attention.  Not long after that He sent me to Slovakia to hear the same message.  I remember walking into the mission center and seeing the big banner across the room that said “Comfort, comfort my people…” in Slovak.  I couldn’t read Slovak- but I knew what that said.  I asked the Pastor and he confirmed it.  As I sit here this morning, I remember how my heart leapt and my eyes filled with tears at the affirmation I felt at that moment.  God was speaking.  We never know how he will speak to us and he will do whatever he has to to get our attention.  Why?  Because he loves us.  It’s pretty simple when you think about it.  The rain on the leaves, the sun shining through the forest, a simple white  church perched on a rock and even a trip across the ocean.  God is always there…waiting for us to notice His presence, to look UP and grin, to eagerly run towards Him and then to fall into His arms with joy…

I’ve fallen deeper than ever before…there are no words…only heartbeats of gratitude…and tears of joy…I love you Lord…more than ever before…

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

