Love, for the day is near

Standard

In Romans 13:8  Paul tells us to LOVE, LOVE, LOVE.   He says that when we LOVE we are fulfilling God’s law. 

8Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another, for he who loves his fellowman has fulfilled the law. 9The commandments, “Do not commit adultery,” “Do not murder,” “Do not steal,” “Do not covet,”[a] and whatever other commandment there may be, are summed up in this one rule: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”[b] 10Love does no harm to its neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.

When we accept Christ as our Savior, we are under obligation to LOVE with no conditions attached.  We cannot do this on our own.  We do this by the indwelling of the Holy Spirit.  God gave us the Holy Spirit to empower us to do His work.  

Romans 5:5 

And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.  

Did you read that like I did?  GOD POURED OUT HIS LOVE INTO OUR HEARTS BY THE HOLY SPIRIT!!!!!!The Holy Spirit lives in each of us and is just waiting for us to call out so we can be filled with the power from above.  God has given us the Holy Spirit to help us here on earth.  He knows how weak we are and he knows that we need all the help we can get…at least I do!  Let us call on the Holy Spirit to empower us to love, love, love.  To love like we’ve never loved before- to love like Christ. 

God left us the Holy Spirit as a DEPOSIT. 

 What is a deposit?  It is a pledge that says ” I’m committing to owning this…” such as a deposit on a home or a vehicle.  It means, I’m going to come back and get this and when I do it will be mine.  It is a commitment to future ownership.  A guarantee that you will come back and honor the commitment. 

God has given us His eternal commitment by leaving us the Holy Spirit as a deposit. 

2 Corinthians 5:5 (New International Version)

5Now it is God who has made us for this very purpose and has given us the Spirit as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.

God is guaranteeing our future transformation!!!!!!  Isn’t that exciting?

But wait…there’s more…we have work to do….

Romans 13: 11-14 says:

 11And do this, understanding the present time.

The hour has come for you to wake up from your slumber,

because our salvation is nearer now than when we first believed.

12The night is nearly over; the day is almost here. So let us put aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light. 13Let us behave decently, as in the daytime, not in orgies and drunkenness, not in sexual immorality and debauchery, not in dissension and jealousy. 14Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the sinful nature.[a]

As each day passes, with every second, minute and hour, every passing of the day into the night, every sunrise and sunset- we are approaching the day of our salvation.  This means the day when Jesus will come back to scoop us up and take us with Him.  He will come when we least expect it, when we aren’t looking, like a thief in the night.  God’s promise will be fulfilled and we will live in eternity with Christ.   I don’t know about you, but this makes me want to be as prepared as possible.  It makes me want to obey God’s commands, it compels me to look deep inside myself and ask what is it that I need to do to be clothed like  Christ?   Just as Paul longed to be clothed with his heavenly dwelling, I long for this as well.  I’m not ready to leave this earth, however I AM BEING PREPARED for when that day comes.  God uses every opportunity that he can to get our attention. 

Are we awake or are we slumbering like a bear in hibernation-all fat, cozy and happy in our cave? 

Let’s put away the “deeds of darkness”

and

PUT ON THE ARMOR OF LIGHT!

Christ Jesus is that light and I don’t know if you realize this or not but every time we sin, it is as if we are nailing Jesus right back up on that cross again.  Is that what we want to to live for?  To be the “HammerMan?”  I don’t.  Yes, the truth hurts sometimes, but it is the Truth.  God implores with us over and over again to rid ourselves of our sinful nature.    Jesus died for this sinfulness and he was raised from the dead.

RESURRECTED in a new body- a body that people didn’t recognize. 

We have been given another day, another opportunity to live in the victorious life of knowing that one day Christ will come back for his followers.  Let’s not wait around, let’s not say, ” oh there’s always tomorrow” because you know what?  There isn’t always a tomorrow.  Look at the world today.  Turn on the news, open the newspaper, listen, read, watch. WAKE UP.  God is calling US in love….are we listening?

I pray that we are…

 

 

 

 

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

