The Tender Love….

Standard

( artwork by Donna Godwin)

Good Morning!

I’ve been reading a book about CS Lewis and watching the movie, “The Chronicles of Narnia.”  In the movie the lion’s name is Aslan and he represents Jesus Christ.  C.S.Lewis was a genius in telling the Gospel through animals and fantasy characters.   In watching the movie I am moved by the tenderness of the lion with the children.  A lion represents power, strength, force and fear.  Not tenderness.  It is a contrast that Lewis himself must have felt in order to portray Christ in this way.  Of course, the bible tells us of this type of love and fear over and over again, but some folks choose to only see one or the other-not both.  As Christians, we must see all of the bible as the Truth-not just what we like. 

When Edmund meets the White Witch ( satan) he is taken by her temptation of food, drink, warmth and empty promises.  What he doesn’t know is that she is just using him to get what she wants-to lure him away from the Kingdom of God-which is where Aslan resides.  It takes very little for her to convince Edmund to do her work.  She represents the epitomy of evil.  Her entire character is cold, dark and just plain wicked. 

At one point in the movie one of the characters says, ” I’ve seen what the White Witch ( satan) can do-we can’t leave people behind to suffer her tricks.”

We can’t leave people behind….

Many people cannot feel the power of the Risen Lord because they haven’t experienced the tender love of the Lion.  In the scene where Lucy  runs into Aslan’s “arms” my heart is filled with a rush of love.  I ask myself if I am greeting people with this same tender love?  Am I opening my arms to all?  Am I representing the tender love of the Lion to everyone I meet?  Can people feel Christ in my embrace?  In this scene-Lucy’s face is full of pure joy.  Joy in it’s fullest form-knowing  the love of the Lion. ( Christ) 

Let me switch gears for a minute…earlier this year I went on a day mission trip to Samaritan’s Purse in Boone, NC.  While there, we were greeted by all of the employees and there was one in particular that stood out to me.  I can’t remember his name, but I’ll never forget this man’s embrace.  It was the embrace of Christ.  This man was so full of the joy of the Lord and his face and embrace said it all.  He hugged me like I was his long lost sister or something…and in a way I am…we are all sisters and brothers in Christ-we have siblings we have never even met and we should respond in joy when we do meet them!   Your hug, handshake, words, all reflect your love for Jesus.  It is when we embrace in love- like the Lion and Lucy-that we share the tender love of our Lord.  He says, ” come to me…” and people can do that…through us. 

So, let me encourage you today to give a firm handshake, a tight and warm embrace, a sweet word of encouragement and love, and look people in the eyes-they will never forget it.  I haven’t.  That man’s hug has truly changed the way I hug others-with the love of Christ.  A ” Jesus hug” as one friend says.  A hug that lets people know they are loved and included in the family of God.  We have to do everything ( in love) that we can so that no one is left behind and sometimes all it takes is a hug!

Blessings!

D.

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

