What’s your “Brand?”

Standard

Hi! 

I have a young friend in college and she recently had an assignment to come up with her own “brand.”  She has to come up with something that says, ” this is me, this is what I am all about, what I do, who I am, what I believe, etc.”   This is hers….

So, that got me to thinking that maybe we all need to come up with our own personal brand for ourselves.  What would yours look like?  Would it be artistic,mechanical, musical, technical ?  Would it speak of love, compassion, Christ?  Or how about leadership,  commitment, devotion?  Or maybe it is parenting, motherhood, fathering, pastoring, shepherding?  Stubborness, patience, joy?  Tenacity, disicpline and diligence?   I don’t know what yours looks like-I’m still trying to figure out mine!  haha! 

In discerning this “brand” I think I am at a crossroads and I’m not sure which road to take.  So I wait.  I hate waiting.  So I would say that patience is NOT part of my brand-although it needs to be!  And who knows-after this waiting- maybe it will be! ha!   I have also discovered that I have a lot of growing to do in areas such as unconditional love, compassion, kindness and commitment.  But then-who doesn’t?  I can’t do this alone and I have trouble asking for help-even from God-who already knows I need help.  How crazy is that?  He wants me to admit that I can’t do it alone-yet my stubborness gets in the way and I keep trying to do it by myself.  So, stubborness is definitely part of my brand!  I know that being stubborn can be an awesome quality when used positively.  Like not backing down, sticking to your commitments, being stubbornly devoted, etc..  

Ephesians 2: 10 says,

 ” For we are GOD’s workmanship ( !!!) created in Christ Jesus to do GOOD WORKS,

which God prepared in ADVANCE for us to do.”

I think this is a loaded scripture and could be part of every person’s “brand.”   I know it’s part of mine and I guess today I am asking myself if I really believe this then why so many questions?  Why the wait?  Where is my BELIEF and I should be saying, ” Lord, help my unbelief.”  God has been here and planned it all out for me, you, us , the world.  Why is it so hard to just “go with it?”   After all it is GOOD works we are to do-right?   What’s the big deal then?  I think it ( what God asks each of us to do for him) is because it’s uncomfortable and it gets us up and off our padded pews.  It takes us away from our family, friends and all those comforts of knowing we are loved by everyone around us.  For me, and others,  it’s like this huge inner struggle-push-pull-tug-poke-prod.  Except right now I can’t feel or hear anything.  I feel like I am as far away from God as I have been in a long time and it is very uncomfortable.   I know it is a valley and I will climb out of it-with God’s help.   I know He is there-but where in the world am I?  I feel like I am in limbo-land.  ugh.   I know that God loves me no matter where I am “at” and I Him.  So part of my brand is the grace, and unwavering love of our passionate Creator who created ME in his image.   Another part of it is the TRUTH  that GOD is ABLE to do immeasurably more than I can ever ask or imagine.  He is all powerful, ominiscient and passionate about me!  ( and you!)

So-today I am praying the scripture from Hebrews 10:  22let us ( everyone)  draw near to God with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water. 23Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful. 24And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds. 25Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.”  Help me to press on-to move toward YOU Lord, not away.   Help me to drown out the world around me and hear only YOU.  Open my ears to your words, open my eyes to your works and rid me of my unbelief.  Help me Lord…Amen

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

