# 1 Pentecost Sunday Baptisms at Camp Dickenson May 23, 2010

Standard

Pentecost Sunday

May 23, 2010

Camp Dickenson

It was a gorgeous afternoon to celebrate the coming of the Holy Spirit through 33 baptisms and 300 witnesses.  I had never been to a river baptism this large before.  My own girls were baptized in the New River a few years ago, but the gathering was not quite as large as this!  It was an amazing celebration!   SouledOut sang, ” Down in the river to pray”, Bishop Swanson and the District Superintendent Meg Taylor opened with prayer and baptism liturgy.  Then the dunking began, one by one.  It was amazing to see all of the clergy standing together as one in the current of the New River.   The scripture from Ephesians came to my mind:  Ephesians 4: 5- One LORD, ONE faith, ONE Baptism.  This day was a perfect illustration of that scripture. 

This is the first of many posts of pictures from the day.

Pastor Ty Harrison and Bishop Swanson walking the grounds of the Camp.

A beautiful sunny day.

The Bishop speaking-he is an impressive man of God -loved his tie!

The crowd- 300 plus.

Our wonderful, beautiful, glorious clergy, (body of Christ ) in the New River together….

Cory Smith was the first one in!

Then the grinning Jacob Holderfield!

 

The entire Hortonberry Family!  This was so exciting to see this family baptized all together!  Many hearts were blessed! 

I didn’t get everyone’s names-so if you Pastors can help me here, I can add them in! 

Pastor John Grimm from Jordan’s Chapel ( in white shirt)

with Walker Suthers and Kelsey Hash

Kelsey Hash

 Look for another post of the days events shortly! 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

