Horton Hears a Who

Standard
 
 
 
I had the extreme pleasure of watching “Horton Hears A Who” awhile back…
Here is a little bit about the movie…
My thoughts are in red.
Donna
 
“Horton Hears a Who”
 
Horton is an elephant who lives in the jungle.  One day he hears a cry for help.
The cry is coming from a “speck” that has been floating in the air and lands on a beautiful pink clover.
He rescues the speck by picking the flower and he holds onto it tightly.  Only Horton can hear the cries from Whoville.
You see, Whoville is the name of the town full of tiny people that live on the “speck” on the clover. 
No one else can hear what Horton hears. 
 
Enter Kangaroo.
She is a grumpy, mean, negative kangaroo that tells Horton,
” if you can’t see it, hear it, or feel it, IT DOESN’T EXIST!”  (ouch!)
She wants Horton to quit talking about Whoville and she tells him,
” Our community has standards Horton, and if you want to remain a part of it, you BETTER follow them!”  (hmm…)
  
Let me stop right here to comment on what I hear:
I see Horton as the person from Matthew that Jesus commands to help the needy, poor, homeless, and hungry.
He knows in his heart of hearts that these people need help and he is going to do whatever it takes to help them, no matter how small they may be, or no matter that they live on a speck on a flower.  He hears the cries and he responds.
He doesn’t listen to Kangaroo or anyone else when they say that he’s crazy.  He is committed to the call to help and he does it with all his mind, body and strength.  I ask you, are we committed to these same things?
 
On the flipside of the speck is the Mayor of Whoville.  He hears Horton respond, but no one believes him either.  But the Mayor is determined to stay in contact with Horton, no matter the odds.  They believe in each other, even though they have not seen each other, they know the other is there.  Just like we know Jesus is there.  Are we determined to stay in contact with Him?  He certainly is with us!  The Whoville town council calls the Mayor a “BOOB” and tells him to stop all the nonsense about hearing an elephant.  The mayor realizes that his world ( the speck) could be destroyed without Horton’s help.  Do we know this about our world?  That it can be destroyed without Jesus’ help?  If we don’t, we should.
 
Enter Kangaroo once again.
( The bossy devil’s advocate)
She continues to try to stop Horton and wants him to hand over the clover flower so she can destroy Whoville.
Horton refuses and says,
” A person is a person no matter how small.”
 
Horton is exactly right and I think Dr. Seuss ( Theodore Geisel) had a very unique insight into the world.
One that we don’t see very often.  Let’s pay attention!
We are ALL unique and created in God’s image, for God’s purpose, each of has a special plan for our lives, designed by God and for God. 
We all have worth. 
 We are all precious in God’s sight. 
Yes, especially you, the reader. 
God LOVES you!
 
Horton continues on his journey to save Whoville and he faces many dangers and challenges, BUT he perseveres and faces each danger head on with grit and might.  He remains strong, thinks good thoughts and nothing can stop him.
Not even Kangaroo.
She still persists in getting rid of the speck on the clover.
She tells everyone that Horton should be kicked out of the jungle and Horton finds out and says,
” i thought she was my friend.”  ( we can all relate to this at some point in our lives)
Morton, Horton’s little friend, tries to convince Horton to get rid of the speck on the clover. 
 Horton refuses saying,  ” I promised the mayor.”
” I meant what I said and I said what I meant and an elephant’s faithful 100%.”
Morton tries again saying, ” Please for me be faithful 99% of the time.  I’ve never gotten 99% on anything and I think I’m awesome-so come on…”  ( ask yourself if there is something or someone keeping you from being 100%?)
But Horton refuses, repeating his motto…

” I meant what I said and I said what I meant and an elephant’s faithful 100%.”
 
There’s more to the story, but I plan to stop here for tonight, so look for another WHO devotion soon! 
I ask myself these questions: 
Am I persevering? 
As I follow Jesus, am I willing to face each danger head-on with grit and might?
Do I focus on the power of the Lord or the power of self?
Am I easily swayed by the devil’s advocate?
Do I keep my promises?
Am I faithful to God 100%?
Do I refuse to let anything get in the way of God’s plan?
Do I repeat my motto?
” I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me…
God did not make me fearful, He gave me a spirit of power and might.”
Now change that to YOU CAN DO ALL THINGS THROUGH CHRIST WHO STRENGTHENS YOU
and
GOD GAVE YOU A SPIRIT OF POWER AND MIGHT.
Let’s be like Horton…100% faithful!!!!!!!!
 
Peace and Grace,
Donna
 

 
About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

