Love

Standard

Good Morning!

Yesterday ( Tuesday) we were praying for Kathy.  Kathy had major surgery for a life threatening illness.  I have never met Kathy, however I feel as if I have always known her.  It has been through the love of her lifelong friend, Betsy, that I have come to know Kathy.   I know that sounds unusual , doesn’t it?  We’ve never met, yet I feel as if I ‘know’ Kathy. 

There’s a hymn that we sing and one of the lines in it says, ” they will know we are Christians by our love…”  Well, I know Kathy by Betsy’s love for her.  I have witnessed the love of Christ working through these two women in this illness.  One I know, personally, and the other I know merely by hearing about her.  I have been blessed to experience God’s unconditional love working through this friendship.  It is a love that I yearn for and often wonder if I too, will ever “get there.”   One day Lord…one day…

I spent some time on Monday in the woodshed.  I had originally set out to accomplish a previous project I had started.  But instead, God guided me in this one.  Kathy was on my mind with her upcoming surgery and I felt led to make her this cross, praying for her as I crafted it.    It’s not just a cross with a bird on it, each piece has significant meaning to it…

The cross itself is a piece of cedar that came from Slovakia.  When we were there, we built a cedar bench and I brought back a few small pieces as mementos and this is one of them.  While in Slovakia I felt the presence of the Holy Spirit at work and I was also strengthened in my faith.  God showed me that with devotion, persistence and hard work- we can accomplish anything together.  I see these very things in this beautiful friendship between these two women. 

The bird represents the Holy Spirit and this wood is also cedar-except it is some wood that came from Betsy’s house.  So, the cedar of Amercia has ‘married’ the cedar of Slovakia in this piece.  Strength from afar has melded with strength here at home.  Betsy’s first mission trip was to Slovakia- just as mine was.  I know that her trip, like mine, helped to shape her walk with Christ to where it is today.  God showed both of us an unconditional love through the people of Slovakia-a love that God is using to equip us as we journey this road together.  Betsy’s love for Kathy and our love for Christ as “sisters” of the faith. 

The base is oak which simply signifies STRENGTH.  We can do all things through CHRIST who gives us STRENGTH.  Phil. 4:13

The blue cascade of beading represents the Living Water.  This is the water that we receive when we accept Christ as our Lord and Savior. He fills our cup to overflowing.  His water is alive, moving, healing, shaping, soothing, and nurturing.  It falls on us like a fresh summer rain on a hot day.  Quenching, cooling and satisfying our weary souls.  It embraces us and wraps us up in love. 

Unconditional love.  

My prayer today is that God will be glorified in all things and that Kathy will receive the healing touch of God Almighty through the surgery, the nurses, her caregivers, and her recovery.  We love you Kathy! 

May God’s healing rain fall upon you…

D.

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

