The “32”

Standard

Mary Englebreit- A Touch of Nature

Anyone who knows me well, knows how much I love Mary Englebreit.  She started drawing at a young age and her first studio was in her bedroom closet!  I think that is just great!  I have taught myself her technique of drawing, sketching, outlining, inking and coloring.  It is very detailed and whimsical- which is what I like about her work.  I look to Mary’s work for inspiration…colors, style, details.  I see things one day that I didn’t see the day before.  Mary draws from the heart about people.  I draw from the heart about God.  My style is my own, a little of her, a little of me and sometimes just plain weird!  I like it that way.  I have had people tell me that they know my work without seeing my name.  That says a lot to me!  I have finally developed my own style.  For years I always tried to draw like other people instead of like me.  It’s a learning process!

Last night my oldest daughter reminded me of how much I used to paint.  She started ticking projects off and here I thought she wasn’t paying attention all those years ago! haha!  On Friday we attended the Remembrance walk at VT.  After the walk we had a chance to create some art of our own.  We had so much fun painting and goofing around.  I especially loved sharing little painting tips with Ray and Laura.  It was fun to watch their work come to life after a few pointers.  Ray created an awesome sunset scene ( or was it sunrise…) and I had to laugh at how he particular he was about where his colors were.  Perfectly in line.  Me…well, I just throw a little here and there and see what happens.  It just shows how different people are!  Here is some of the work that we did:

by Ray Edmonds

by Patti Holderfield

Nica by Laura Holderfield

John 14:6 by Corynn Godwin

by Sussie Slaugenhaupt

by Anna Lee

by Donna Godwin

And our two new friends!

It was a sweet, sweet time of fellowship and we enjoyed discussing the things of God and life while we painted.  God was in the day, in the walk and in the life of those who have gone on before us.  Our thoughts and prayers go out to all the families of the 32 children of God who were lost on that tragic day in April.   Our thoughts and prayers also go out to the family of the one who took the lives.  May we all be ever mindful of our time here on earth and who our Creator is.  He is the healer of all, the lover of souls and the One who pours His mercy and grace over all who will accept it. 

May God bless you all!

 

The “32” who have gone before us…

The 7000 who walked and remembered you…

you are missed and loved by many…

God Bless you…

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

