Reflections…

Standard

Good Morning!

Last night I broke my 7 day fast.  Was I hungry? Not really.  My mouth had not chewed any food in 168 hours and quite frankly-it was well rested!  ha!  I fixed spaghetti, meatballs and a huge salad.  I had been thinking about those meatballs all week!  It’s funny because my favorite food is pizza and I haven’t craved that at all!  Well, we sat down to eat and as I was saying the prayer- the dog proceeded to throw up right near the table.  Gross, huh?  Well, it was.  The dog is rarely in the house at dinner time-so the whole thing was kind of strange.  So we cleaned up and moved on.

I fixed myself about half of what I would normally eat, spaghetti with one meatball and a salad.  I found myself eating slowly, carefully and chewing more.  I was also careful not to overeat.  As it turned out whatI really wanted was the salad and the meatball.  It was good, but not as good as I expected.  You would think that having not eaten for 7 days I would be starving and wanted to “DIG IN.”  Well, it wasn’t like that at all.  I honestly was not hungry.  It didn’t take me long to get full either.  Some salad and the meatball and 2 fork fulls of spaghetti and I was done.  After dinner I always have coffee with belgian chocolate creamer in it.  So I poured a big cup of coffee and fixed it as normal.  Well, it did not taste good at all.  Way too sweet.  I ended up pouring it out.  I just couldn’t drink it.  I think my taste buds have been renewed!!!  Hallelujah! 

I’ve been reading several books on fasting and one of them says that when we fast we “crucify the flesh.”  Meaning that we are ridding ourselves of all the bad things that we take in when we eat.  I am a junk food junkie.    I will be thinking twice about what I put in my mouth now.  When I was eating dinner I found that what tasted the best was the salad.  God’s food.  Apples, carrots, lettuce, olives, onions, cheese. 

Some people might say that I should keep my fast particulars private.  But I don’t agree with that.  The bible is full of stories about fasting and if we didn’t have these stories on fasting- then how would we learn to fast?  However, during this fast I did keep the fast to myself and my prayer warriors, but now that it is over I think it is important to share what I have learned with others.  It is a teaching experience.  Isn’t that how we have learned to fast…from the Master?    As Christians, I believe that we are to share our experiences with others.  If we don’t, then how will we help anyone?  I mean we all feel alone and abandoned at times and it’s always nice to hear that someone else is going through what we are.

It reminds me of Holy Week.  On the last night our speaker, Jeff Pickett, gave a whopping testimony about himself.  It was one that most people wouldn’t admit to, but he did.  He said he was a reformed alcoholic and one time he even called himself a drunk.  This man is on fire for God.  He laid it all there for people to hear and you know what I think?  By doing that he is helping others to loose thier own bondages, addictions, etc..    Jeff shared his life experience with the audience and it was very moving.  You know, if Jesus didn’t share his stories with us, what would we know of love?  Nothing.  Nothing at all.  It’s all about love.  God wants us to lay it all at his feet and be free to live for HIM.  There is so much addiction and bondage all around us and it breaks my heart.  I know how I feel and I can’t even imagine how God feels.  It’s like when your 2 year old falls in the gravel and comes to you with a bloody knee.  What do you do?  You scoop her up and wipe away the tears and blood and clean the wound, put a healing ointment on it and cover it to keep it clean.  Think about it, isn’t that what God does for us?  He will if we will let him.  He IS our healing ointment the Almighty Healer of ALL.  There isn’t anything He cannot overcome.  We can’t do it alone- we have to release it to Him and let Him do it.  That’s what I have found out in this time of fasting.   I’m addicted to food that tastes good and there are times when I can’t stop eating those chips and cookies, or whatever it might be.  THAT is bondage.  I am sick of being held down by it, aren’t you?  I want to give God my very best, with a body that is full of HIM and not junk.  I want to glorify GOD with my life.  To be Holy and Pleasing- a living sacrifice.  Romans 12. 

I know I will struggle with this addiction for the rest of my life- but you know what, that’s ok because I serve a God who is there to help me.  This fast has shown me what He will do when I am obedient!  So if you have an addiction- release it to God and let Him guide you in the healing process.  There is nothing to fear, nothing to hide, and in the end it’s all about what GOD wants for YOU!  To be HOLY and PLEASING!!! 

I thank God that he pours His mercy and grace over me daily and I am honored to be called a Child of God and you should be too!  Because whether you know it or not-you ARE a child of God and He loves you very, very, very much.  He wants to heal your scrapes and bruises…won’t you let Him?

In His service,

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

