Faith in action

Standard

(I know I’ve posted this before-but I love Nicole Mullen’s version of this song!)

What is faith?

Hebrews  11:1 says that faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. 

What does that mean?

Well, we are sure that when we go to bed everynight that we will wake to a new day, a new sunrise and a brand new day full of opportunity.  Right?  What makes us believe this?  Our faith in God.  See, believe it or not, God is in our face everyday.  Some of us don’t even recognize Him.  He is in the sunset, the sunrise, the dewy grass, the birds chirping,  and the air we breathe.  He is everywhere- proclaiming His glorious greatness!  He is constantly serving us with His generosity and goodness.  If you don’t believe it-look outside.  God could wreck this world in a second, but he doesn’t. Why?  Because he loves us.   HE LOVES US.  It’s about HIM, not us!   He wants us to “get Him” in our lives.  He desires our worship, our diligence, our very lives.  He doesn’t want a little bit- He wants a LOT a bit!  All of it!  Now, some may say that’s impossible- but you know what? Nothing is impossible with God. Nothing. 

For years I have witnessed God at work in the persistence and faith of many who are feeling called to serve the Lord with  all of thier being.  What I have seen there has impacted me to go and do likewise.   My heart is being melted and molded into what GOD wants, not what Donna wants.  Because you know what? What I want is no good!  I cannot live this life without God and if I try to do that I will end up on death row.  Now that sounds harsh and it is, but it’s the truth.   A life without God leads to death.  It’s just no good and why do we want that anyway?  I mean God has given us the best of the best and that’s what he wants in return.  We don’t have to pay for it, we don’t have to do anything to get it, all we have to do is love HIM with all our being and accept Jesus as our Savior.  That’s it!

I have been on this journey for a long time and I have taken many roads to get here.  I am finally on the right road and I am going to do whatever Ican to stay on it and that means putting my faith in action.  I don’t want to sit on my hands anymore.  Someone referred to “people sitting on thier hands” recently and how frustrating that is for the Church.   Isn’t that really what we do?  We sit and let other people do the work that God has called us to do. I’m not perfect and I have done this too.  I have also had  many people tell me ” I think this is what YOU should do Donna…Don’t you think you should do this or that … get that ball rolling, etc.,etc..”  Well, I’ve got news for you folks-it takes many hands to accomplish God’s work and we cannot do this by sitting on them.    If God is telling you to tell someone to do something- then maybe that someone is really you! We all have two hands and it is when we put those hands together for Christ that we accomplish His Will!  Our Pastors and Church Leaders cannot do it alone.  They aren’t meant to.  We, the Body of Christ, are placed there by God, to help, encourage and minister to the sick, needy and poor right alongside our Pastors.  We are ONE BODY serving ONE LORD. 

I am doing the Experiencing God bible study and it is teaching me to meet God where HE is and join Him there.  God knows the plans and He will reveal them to me when I am faithful and diligent in seeking Him.  If I try to do things on my own, then I will fail miserably.  I recently had to decide whether I was going to believe in God or in myself.  A friend said, ” I hear you saying that you can’t do it and you can’t- however nothing is impossible WITH God.”  She is right.  NOTHING is impossible WITH God.  If it is truly God’s willing way for your life, then he WILL make it happen.  When we jump out of our comfort zone and into the depths of the unknown, aren’t we really jumping the arms of our loving father and letting him carry us?    Remember being a kid and jumping into the arms of your parents? You knew they would catch you!  God’s going to catch you too!  He will scoop you up and fold you into his big Daddy arms and love you the whole way.  When you reach your destination you will come to a deeper and fuller understanding of WHO God is and WHAT he does!

For me, I’ve discovered that I tend to keep God compartmentalized in my brain.  It’s like a box with little compartments marked love, faith, hope, etc..  The box has dimensions and therefore has boundaries.  But you know what I have personally discovered is that the God I serve has NO boundaries and he will NOT be limited to to my minute understanding of who He is and what He does.  I am learning that when he says DO I must obey and not question.  I must forge ahead-despite myself.  I must call in the prayer warriors as my support team and feed on God’s word as I seek His Holy and Glorious face.  I can’t go wrong.  God will NEVER steer me down the wrong path-nor will He you!  All of God’s roads lead to goodness! 

Can’t wait to see you there!

May God’s Blessings rain upon you,

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

