God’s presence

Standard

Good Morning!

Today is day 32 of Pastor Ronnie’s 40 day fast.  In watching, reading, and talking to Ronnie about his fast over these past 32 days I have witnessed the ominiscient power and strength of God through prayer and fasting.    If I had not been here to witness God’s mighty hand on Ronnie I probably would have been in unbelief too.  Many people still cannot believe that he is actually doing this and that he is still alive after 32 days of no food.  God has proven his power through Ronnie’s fast and obedience.  Ronnie isn’t doing this for attention- he is doing it to reach the lost.  God has given him a vision and he is living it out.  I believe that God is already doing a mighty work in all who are witnesses to this humble act of obedience by His servant, Ronnie. 

For myself, I can sense the presence of the Lord in, on and around Ronnie.  I see it, smell it, feel it and hear it.  It overwhelms me to tears…these tears are from God.  Everytime I am around him I want to weep, and I often do.  I wonder if this is how it will be when I finally get to meet Jesus face to face.  You know, God is so present in our lives-He is in every aspect of it, especially when we least expect it!  Yesterday I was at the Dr’s office with Betsy and we met this man there who was obviously in love with the Lord.  Our conversation was divine and it was no accident that we were there at the same time.  One of the things this man shared with me was that our tears come from the Lord and there is nothing wrong with those tears.  At times, he was teary eyed himself, as he spoke of God’s mighty presence in his own life.  God blessed me through this gentleman and we had “church” in the waiting room.  Through our conversation we were able to witness to about 6 or 8 people who were coming and going.  Each time someone would come in- this gentleman would rise and open the door for them.  One woman, sitting nearby, commented that he was the “doorkeeper.”    God was in that comment and in that waiting room because this 75 year old gentleman unknowingly left a mark on my heart and I pray that I too am a doorkeeper.  Not a doorkeeper in the worldly sense, but a “Doorkeeper” for Christ.  Christ is the door to eternity and we can only enter through Him.  I pray that I am always at the ready, just like this man was, to gently and kindly open the door for the next person who appears there.  Say a kind word, give a handshake, smile and a word of encouragement.  Sounds pretty simple doesn’t it?  Well, it is!

So, what does this have to do with Ronnie?  Well, Ronnie is being the Doorkeeper too, with every prayer, every word, every event, everything this man does is for God.  I have never, ever met anyone like him.  There aren’t many Ronnie Collins in the world and I am so blessed and humbled to be under his care as a member of our church.  I have watched God take this big, bold, brawny man of God and melt him into this tender, gentle, warm and compassionate child of God. I am a very visual person and for me it has been like watching Michelangelo hammer David out of marble-and even then that is not accurate.  Have you ever watched wax or crayons melt?  It’s like taking a box of 96 crayons ( every color) and watching them melt over a flame that is just the right temperature.  They melt into this beautiful mixture of every color, like a rainbow.  This is what I see in Ronnie.  Except there aren’t enough colors on earth to describe what I see and I can’t wait to see the colors of heaven! 

 

Ronnie Collins- you have blessed my heart, my life and my soul.  I wouldn’t be where I am today without you.  I am the fruit of your labor and God helping us- that fruit will be multiplied.  I thank God for your obedience and fiery passion for Him, for your servant attitude, for your family and especially for Misty.  May the Holy Spirit fall upon you, like a pounding March rain, as you complete this work that God has given you to do. 

May God continue to raise you up…I am always praying and seeking His face.  Thank you Brother. 

( all pictures from internet- except Ronnie)

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

4 responses »

  1. Wow! Donna, you have said so eloquently, what many of us want to say, but, just don’t seem to have the right words. This is beautiful and I am so glad that I have been blessed to be able to be around Ronnie and witness this amazing man’s act of service to God.

  2. Donna, what beautiful words to describe Ronnie and his precious family, Misty and the boys.He is a true servant of the Lord, and he could only do the fast by God’s grace and strength. There are untold thousands of people he has made a lasting impression in their lives. One of them is our family, Christ chapel friends, hundreds of teens, thousands on Face Book. He is a true blessing to all.I pray all Gods blessings upon him and his family. We are truly blessed to have him as our Associate Pastor.I hope we always get to keep him in our church.

  3. Donna,

    We know your words here will be additional inspiration to see Ronnie through this 40 day trial of fasting and praying. We too continue to be amazed and blessed by Ronnie’s obedience to God and passionate desire to feed his flock. We welcome with great anticipation the awesome things that God will do thanks to a pastor with a vision, a church who wants to follow, and a Holy Spirit that will lead us. May we all do our part to glorify God so that the lost will be saved, and His people will be sanctified.

Leave a Reply

