Grandma’s Apron

Standard

Hi!

A few weeks ago I was talking to a friend and church member who was working in the kitchen at a function we were having.  She was wearing this beautiful apron that looked like it might have belonged to her Grandmother.  So I inquired about it.  Today she sent me this little piece on aprons and I just love it! 

As a visual person I can see, smell, hear, feel, and taste each thing written about the apron.    God gave us senses to fully appreciate all that He has given us.  As you read this, let your imagination flow as you read about what Granny did with her apron…enjoy!

   The History of ‘APRONS’
      
   I don’t think our  kids 
 Know what an apron is.
 The principal use of Grandma’s apron was to protect the dress underneath,
because she only had a few, it was easier to wash aprons than dresses
and they used less material, but along with that,
it served as a potholder for removing 
 Hot pans from the oven.

 

( My Granny-frying chicken)

 
 It was wonderful for drying children’s tears,
and on occasion was even used for cleaning out dirty ears..
       
 From the chicken coop,
The apron was used for carrying eggs, fussy chicks,
and sometimes half-hatched eggs to be finished in the warming oven.

  
  
When company came, those  aprons were ideal hiding places for shy  kids.

  
And when the  weather
Was cold grandma wrapped it around her arms.

  
 
 Those big old aprons  wiped many a perspiring brow, bent over the hot wood  stove..
     
  
Chips and kindling wood were brought into the kitchen in that  apron.
  
 From the  garden,
It carried all sorts of vegetables. 

  
After the peas had been  shelled, it carried out the hulls.
  
 In the fall, the apron was used to bring in apples that had fallen from the trees.


  When unexpected company  drove up the road,
it was surprising how much furniture that
 old apron could dust in a matter of  seconds.
 
 When dinner was ready,
Grandma walked out onto the porch, waved her apron,
and the menfolks knew it was time to come In from the fields to  dinner.
 
  
It will be a long time
Before someone invents something that will replace
that ‘old-time apron’ that served  so many purposes.

  
 
 Send this to those who would know (and love) the story about Grandma’s aprons.
 
 
 
 
 REMEMBER:
   
 Grandma used to set her hot baked apple pies on the window sill to cool.  
Her granddaughters set  theirs on the window sill 

  
To  thaw.
 
  
They would go crazy now  trying to figure out how many germs were on that apron.

  
 I never caught
Anything from an apron

     But  Love  

God is like our apron.  He protects us and keeps us out of the “heat” when we give our hearts to Him.  He wipes our tears away and he provides a hiding place for us within His strong embrace.  He carries us when we are weak.  He dusts us off and readies us for the eternal life that He  planned for us from the very beginning.  Like the apron, it can only protect the garment underneath if we are willing to wear it.  It won’t do any good if it is hanging on the hook.  We MUST pick it up, put it on, tie it tight and USE IT!   We must have willing hearts, and open arms that welcome God’s embrace and His divine protection.   

 Like the story says,

I never caught anything from God

BUT LOVE! 

I pray that you will receive it willingly!

 

In His Love,

Donna

PS: Thank you to my apron wearing friend!  Love you!


 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

7 responses »

  1. thank you for this. In the summer I wear an apron when I cook so I don’t splatter stuff on my legs when I wear shorts! LOL
    t

  2. Great story ! Love it, reminds me of my childhood and Aunt Bertha. I am working on the pictures, having old negatives made into pictures. Grandma looks good up there, Lordy what would she say about herself being on the computer??
    Love, Mom

  3. What a walk down memory lane! I grew up with aprons…my grandma was never seen without one except on Sunday when she went to church in her black dress, black hat, black stockings and black shoes. My mom wore one all of her life. I was able to save a few that I treasure. Love, Shirley

  4. I wear aprons too–I collected them from Bill’s and the girls’ travels.I have them from Paris, New Orleans, Italy, Aruba (Lara’s honeymoon), and even a patriotic one. I have two from Mrs. Webb and two that I made for Heather and Lara to serve at a Valentine’s Day dinner at our house. One day I’ll have my mom’s when daddy permits me to take them!

  5. My granny Gilbert always wore an apron and I have one she made me when I was a little girl. I remember a Thanksgiving play I was in in grade school and she made my bonnet, apron, and the works for my “pilgram costume”. Last year Myra gave me a Christmas apron she made for me. Don’t you love how stories and things call to our minds precious memories. Thanks Donna (and Ruthie)!

  6. I stumbled onto your web page tonight looking for a pitchure of a pie sitting on a window still. Funny thing is that I recieved this “History of Aprons” a while back by e-mail and I have been working on it and just finished making it into a program for a group of ladies that I will be doing on Monday! Anyways, since this came up, I thought I would share what I have put together. It is still kinda rough and in a outline form, but may be of interest to some of your readers. As I read the poem some girls will be acting it out. After the story this is what I will have to say: “God gave us Jesus who had and served many purposes. Some of these purposes are: He was…
    1. SACRIFICIAL LAMB – Hebrews 9:11-15 In these verses we also see him as our HIGH PRIEST and MEDIATOR.
    2. SHEPHERD – John 10:7-17
    3. TEACHER – Matthew 5-7 Jesus Teaches the Sermon on the Mount and at the end in Mt. 7:28-29.
    4. FRIEND – John 15:12-17
    5. HEALER – One example of Jesus being our healer is found in Matthew 8:14-17.

    Just like the apron is seen as not being very useful anymore today. A lot of people see Jesus as not being useful. But he still is very useful; we need him for our salvation and to be with God. And the apron can still be used in every way that Grandma used it.
    Scientists would go crazy now trying to figure out how many germs were on that apron.
    Just like scientists go crazy to disprove who Jesus is and what He stands for.
    I think you would agree with me that all that was ever caught from an apron – was love…
    And all we catch from Jesus is LOVE!”
    Hope this may help someone out!

    • It is alright with me for you to use this at your speaking event. God works in wonderful ways. Like me writing this on here last night, because I felt that I needed to. I think it was more than that, that God wanted me to. Thanks for asking. We do serve an awesome God!

Leave a Reply

