Poverty around the world

Standard

In today’s post you will see images of poverty around the world, from here in the USA to Africa, Pakistan, etc.

Jesus commands US to DO, not to sit around and wait for someone else to do it.

I hope this will help raise your level of awareness.

Blessings,

                                                Donna                                                    Poverty%20Sucks%20(JustWallpaper)_preview

Shocking contrast isn’t it?

poverty in america

Yes, animals too…these are “street dogs.”

street-dogs

Look closely at the artwork on this book cover…the strong fist of poverty is breaking through the floor of the ballroom…

poverty in america 2

This is poverty in Appalachia…not far from here…

poverty in appalachia

 Poverty in Alabama 1938

poverty

 Poverty in Alabama 1938

 A neglected dog…dog neglect

The wealthy on the left, the poor on the right receiving food.  Not much has changed, has it? Poverty and wealth

Kids living in the dumps of Pakistan.

dump2

Scrounging for food among the trash.  Pakistan.

( After receiving a comment about this post I am adding this remark…)

While I may have chosen the wrong word-scrounging-the purpose of this post is to raise awareness about poverty around the world.  The author of the comment has responded below in the comment section of the post.   These people are “recycling paper, plastic etc., to sell – in order to buy food.”  Please pray for the people around the world who live in poverty, are underfed, abused, homeless and alone.   

dump3 pakistan

2009 tent city, Reno, Nevada

tent-city-nevada

Sacramento, CA

tent city 4

Sudan

sudan4

hunger

Will you help us?

Matthew 5:14 (The Message)

  14-16“Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.

Shine on readers!  You are the only JESUS some people and animals may ever see.

God Bless you all!

beever-poverty

Sidewalk chalk art by Julian Beever

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

4 responses »

  1. Donna,

    I think I shared with you that if I were to go on another mission trip to Haiti that I would take soft dog treats with me – the nutrition of the dogs is so bad they have periodontal disease. Thank you for making us aware that poverty is everywhere – and it’s closer than we think!!

    Love, Hugs and Blessings to you today.

  2. Just to say – the people in Pakistan are not “scrounging for food” they are recycling paper, plastic etc., to sell – in order to buy food.

    Please don’t de-humanise them anymore than they already are.

  3. The intent of this post is to educate and raise awareness. I never had intentions of dehumanizing people. I know that there are companies “out there” who make a profit from advertising and “selling” poverty driven goods. I do not agree with this at all. I will say that while I may have chosen the wrong words to describe what they are doing-my intent was to promote awareness around the country.

Leave a Reply

