Be Alert!

Standard

34krlionroarbig1

1 Peter 5:8 (The Message)

He Gets the Last Word

8-11 Keep a cool head. Stay alert. The Devil is poised to pounce, and would like nothing better than to catch you napping. Keep your guard up. You’re not the only ones plunged into these hard times. It’s the same with Christians all over the world. So keep a firm grip on the faith. The suffering won’t last forever. It won’t be long before this generous God who has great plans for us in Christ—eternal and glorious plans they are!—will have you put together and on your feet for good.

He gets the last word; yes, he does.

 

motorcycle-31

 

It was a beautiful Saturday here today so I decided to take my VStar out for a spin around the block.  I rode to town and then back and decided to ride down around some back roads.  As I crested a hill near a friend’s house I beep, beep, beeped at them and as I passed the house, all of a sudden there was a  deer in my path.  I don’t mean it was coming at me, it was right there!  I hit the brake a little, and it squealed, and barely missed him and barely missed getting run over by the deer that was behind him.  My heart was in my throat but I kept my cool.  I slowed down and began thanking God for watching over me.  If I hadn’t hit the brake I probably would have clipped the deer.  If I had hit it harder, I would’ve lost control of the bike.   Thank God that it was timed just right between the two deer!  As I looked in my mirror, I saw 3 more deer dart out behind the first two.  I was a blessed biker today.  As I rode home, I became even more alert and was reminded of this scripture….

Keep a cool head. Stay alert. The Devil is poised to pounce, and would like nothing better than to catch you napping. Keep your guard up.

My mind has been on end times lately.  The way things are in the world today, as a Christian, it is hard NOT to think about it.  So, when the deer jumped and I was saved from harm, I thought, ” I’m glad I have a relationship with Jesus and know where I am going when I die.  ”  That could have been the last ride of my earthly life, but it wasn’t.  I thank God for that.   See, the devil wants to keep us complacent, unconcerned, and asleep. He likes to make us think we have all the time in the world and we can “get to it” tomorrow.  He hates it when Jesus wins a soul for the Kingdom.  But he is oh so happy to win one for hell.  He is ready and waiting to pounce on those who are asleep and unguarded by God’s Word.

Is your heart guarded?

Are you sure of your eternal resting place?

Do you have a relationship with Jesus?

He certainly wants one with you!

He loves to see us come running to him and He waits patiently for us with open arms.  It doesn’t matter what we’ve done, where we’ve been, or how bad we think we are.  He loves us ALL.  He loved the soldiers that beat him and he loved the thief that hung next to him on the cross where He died.   He even asked His Father to forgive them for they know not what they do. See, even when we don’t know what we are doing, He is right there with us every step of the way, just waiting for us to call to Him.    He came to SAVE the world, not to condemn it, He came to help the world, not to oppress it, He came to feed the world, not to starve it.    The devil does that.   He makes us feel unworthy, unloved, and he creates chaos, especially in times such as these.  Our “Papa” loves us and we are His children.  He loves us unconditionally, just as we do our own children.  BUT when we need to be disciplined, he does discipline us.  There cannot be love without discipline.  When my children get out of line, it’s up to me to get them back in line.  That’s what God does to us.  Some people call it Tough Love.  It doesn’t mean He doesn’t love us, it means that He loves us TOO much to let us get away with it.  Sometimes we don’t understand it, but we sure need it!

Jesus is waiting in anticipation to meet you right where you are at!

jesus_3

Don’t wait!

Call on Him today!

Peace,

Donna

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. Nice pictures, I have to go on your blog page to find out U almost had an unpleasant encounter with a deer. Hmmm. But I am glad U are being lovingly watched over.
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

